Our People

Meet our team of scientists, educators, entrepreneurs, designers, and dreamers.

X Kenneth R. Miller Kenneth R. Miller President

Kenneth R. Miller is Professor of Biology and Royce Family Professor for Teaching Excellence at Brown University. His honors include the AAAS's Award for Public Understanding of Science and Technology as well as NCSE's Friend of Darwin award. He testified for the plaintiffs in Kitzmiller v. Dover. His books include Finding Darwin's God (1999), Only a Theory (2008), and The Human Instinct (2018). He became president of NCSE's board of directors in 2017.

X Michael Haas Michael Haas Treasurer

Michael Haas is the founder of Orion Renewable Energy Group LLC and the co-founder of RDC Developments Ltd. He also founded Alliance for Climate Education, a non-profit organization that presents climate change and solutions to millions of high school students. He joined NCSE's board of directors in 2014 and became its treasurer in 2019.

X NCSE board member Sarah B. George Sarah B. George Secretary

Sarah B. George is the Chief Philanthropy Officer for the main campus of the University of Utah. She oversees development for the academic colleges and areas (non-health), serves on the executive team for the University’s Advancement program, and is engaged in managing the University’s $2 billion comprehensive campaign, Imagine New Heights. Previously, for almost 27 years, she was Executive Director of the Natural History Museum of Utah, which provides science education outreach and traveling exhibits to urban and rural communities statewide, serving more than 450,000 people annually both on and off site. She joined NCSE's board of directors in 2020.

X NCSE board member Prosanta Chakrabarty. Prosanta Chakrabarty

Prosanta Chakrabarty is the George H. Lowery Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences and Curator of Fishes at the Museum of Natural Science at Louisiana State University. He is a TED Senior Fellow, an Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a Fulbright Distinguished Chair, and a National Geographic Certified Educator. He is also the author of a recent popular book, Explaining Life Through Evolution (MIT Press, 2023).

X NCSE Board Member Maya Garcia Maya Garcia

Maya Garcia is the Chief Program Officer at Beyond100K. A former classroom science teacher, Garcia previously served as Science and STEM Specialist for the Colorado Department of Education and as the director of STEM for the District of Columbia Office of the State Superintendent of Education, where she was instrumental in the adoption and implementation of the Next Generation Science Standards. She has served as the president of the DC Science Teachers Association and has received a Fulbright Distinguished Teaching Award. She also serves on the National Academies Board on Science Education.

X NCSE Board member Joseph Graves Jr. Joseph L. Graves Jr.

Joseph L. Graves Jr. is Professor of Biology at North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, where he studies the genomics of adaptation as well as biological and social concepts of race in humans. He is the author of The Emperor's New Clothes: Biological Theories of Race at the Millennium (2003), The Race Myth: Why We Pretend Race Exists in America (2004), and (with Alan Goodman) Racism, Not Race: Answers to Frequently Asked Questions (2021)He joined NCSE's board of directors in 2021.

X NCSE Board Member Jo Handelsman Jo Handelsman

Jo Handelsman is the director of the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery and a Vilas Research Professor and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor in the Department of Plant Pathology at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. She previously served as a science advisor to President Barack Obama. She has authored numerous articles about classroom methods and mentoring and she is co-author of six books about teaching including Entering Mentoring and Scientific Teaching. She joined NCSE’s board of directors in 2022.

X Michael B. Lubic Michael B. Lubic

Michael B. Lubic is a partner in the Los Angeles and San Francisco offices of the global law firm K&L Gates. He has a broad insolvency practice encompassing litigation, transactions, and counseling. A founder and long-time member of NCSE's Legal Advisory Committee, he joined NCSE's board of directors in 2019.

X Michael E. Mann Michael E. Mann

Michael E. Mann is Presidential Distinguished Professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Science, and Director of the Penn Center for Science, Sustainability and the Media, at the University of Pennsylvania. He received the Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement for 2019. A recipient of NCSE's Friend of the Planet Award, he joined NCSE's board of directors in 2019.

X NCSE board member J. Marshall Shepherd. J. Marshall Shepherd

J. Marshall Shepherd is the Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor of Geography and Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Georgia. He is also the Director of the Atmospheric Sciences Program and a former President of the American Meteorological Society. He was elected to the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2021. His many honors include NCSE's Friend of the Planet award in 2021.

X NCSE board member Emily Mendiola Sims. Emily Mendiola Sims

Sims is Associate Dean of Students and Certification Officer in the College of Education at the University of Alabama. She works with numerous Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) site teams across the United States. Her engagement with education is both broad and deep: before taking her present position, she taught at the K-12 level, the community college level, and the university level, and served as a member of the board of education of the Jacksonville (Alabama) City School System.