NCSE board member Ben Santer to receive the Schneider Award

NCSE board member Ben Santer.

NCSE is pleased to congratulate Ben Santer for his selection by Climate One as the recipient of the Stephen H. Schneider Award for Outstanding Climate Communication for 2023.

A member of NCSE's board of directors, Santer retired from Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in 2021 and is now a Fowler Distinguished Scholar in Residence at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and a Visiting Researcher at UCLA's Joint Institute for Regional Earth System Science & Engineering. His previous honors include a MacArthur Fellowship in 1998, election to the National Academy of Sciences in 2011, and Sigma Xi's William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement in 2019.

Previous recipients of the Schneider Award include Michael E. Mann and Naomi Oreskes, present and former members, respectively, of NCSE's board of directors.

Glenn Branch
Short Bio

Glenn Branch is Deputy Director of NCSE.