Congratulations to Michael E. Mann

Naomi OreskesNCSE is delighted to congratulate Michael E. Mann on his selection to receive the 2018 Climate Communication Prize from the American Geological Union. The prize is conferred annually in recognition for communication of climate science. Previous recipients include Stefan Rahmstorf, Richard B. Alley, Richard C. J. Somerville, Katharine Hayhoe, Kevin E. Trenberth, Jeffrey T. Kiehl, and Gavin A. Schmidt.

Mann is Distinguished Professor of Atmospheric Science at Penn State University, with joint appointments in the Department of Geosciences and the Earth and Environmental Systems Institute. He is also director of the Penn State Earth System Science Center. His latest book, coauthored with Tom Toles, is The Madhouse Effect (Columbia University Press, 2016). A member of NCSE's Advisory Council, he received NCSE's Friend of the Planet Award in 2014.