To the Honorable Members of the Tennessee House Education Committee From the Tennessee Members of the National Academy of Sciences

A Statement Regarding HB 368 and SB 893

We, as Tennessee citizens and members of the National Academy of Sciences, wish to express our firm opposition to HB 368 and SB 893, currently under consideration by the Tennessee General Assembly.

These bills misdescribe evolution as scientifically controversial. As scientists whose research involves and is based upon evolution, we affirm -- along with the nation's leading scientific organizations, including the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the National Academy of Sciences -- that evolution is a central, unifying, and accepted area of science. The evidence for evolution is overwhelming; there is no scientific evidence for its supposed rivals ("creation science" and "intelligent design") and there is no scientific evidence against it.

These bills encourage teachers to emphasize what are misdescribed as the "scientific weaknesses" of evolution, which in practice are likely to include scientifically unwarranted criticisms of evolution. As educators whose teaching involves and is based on evolution, we affirm-- along with the nation's leading science education organizations, including the National Association of Biology Teachers and the National Science Teachers Association -- that evolution is a central and crucial part of science education. Neglecting evolution is pedagogically irresponsible.

By undermining the teaching of evolution in Tennessee's public schools, HB 368 and SB 893 would miseducate students, harm the state's national reputation, and weaken its efforts to compete in a science-driven global economy.

Dr. Stanley Cohen, Nobel Laureate, 1986 Member, National Academy of Sciences Vanderbilt University*

Dr. Roger D. Cone Member, National Academy of Sciences Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Dr. George M Hornberger Member, National Academy of Engineering of the National Academy of Sciences Vanderbilt Institute for Energy and Environment Dr. Daniel Masys Member, Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Dr. John A. Oates Member, Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences Professor of Pharmacology Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Dr. Liane Russell Member, National Academy of Sciences Oak Ridge National Laboratories (ret) Oak Ridge, TN

Dr. Charles J. Sherr Member, National Academy of Sciences St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Memphis, TN

Dr. Robert Webster Fellow of The Royal Society, London Member, National Academy of Sciences St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Memphis, TN